Overcoming panic disorder

Panic attacks/ panic disorder is a whole other monster.  
The worst part about this is that absolutely nothing can trigger them. You can be fine, out in public, at a birthday party, out with friends, you name it. And all of a sudden it will hit you like a brick wall. Suddenly you feel like you’re going to faint, you get dizzy, light headed, can’t focus, you get the trembles, your vision gets blurry, heart begins to race, you could begin to hyperventilate, experience numbness in your face, legs, arms, etc. you lose your breathing rhythm, you may feel clostraphobic, trapped, the list goes on and on. Different people experience different symptoms. 

This has happened to me so many times I couldn’t count to tell you. I’ll feel perfectly fine, and all of a sudden it hits me. I couldn’t tell you the amount of times I’ve had to walk out of a store because it’s hit me then, or the amount of times I get in the car to go somewhere I really want to go and when I go to drive when I get down the road it hits me. So I turn around and go back home. 

You see, people with panic attacks OR panic disorder tend to have what they call “safety places or things” mine happen to be my house, or certain people. 

Panic attacks mimic heart attacks. Yes, a heart attack. You literally feel as if you’re dying. The good of not so good thing about a panic attack depending on how you look at it is that they last for usually only 30-45 minutes. They will end. You’re not really dying & nothing is wrong with your breathing. It’s just a panic attack and it. Will. Pass. They always do. 

That’s the hardest part about having panic attacks, coming to terms with having it, and that they will pass. It’s uncomfortable, sometimes they’re terrible, they can be debilitating but they will pass. And that’s important to drill into your head. 

Due to my panic disorder I didn’t go into a SAMS, Walmart, Department store, a mall. Any kind of large store I couldn’t enter for 6 years! 6 years is a long time! I let this disease control me instead of me taking control of it for far, far too long

I’m 23 years old & have never been in a club, ever. Because of my panic disorder. Just to give you an idea of just how much this disorder altered my life in the past. 

I am proud to say that I can now go into any store I want without having an attack. Thanks to therapy and medications. 

Some people can’t leave their homes for years. Like I said, panic attacks/ panic disorder effects different people in different ways. 

It’s weird because since I’ve had my baby my disorder has simmered down some which is amazing. That might just be the mom in me coming out because I know I have to get things done for my child. 

Im a therapy person, I love therapy. I find it helps me so much. Some people aren’t, like my dad he’s not so into it. But I get great results from therapy, I think because I hold things in and don’t talk about much. Until I get into therapy that is. 

If you’re experiencing panic attack symptoms I suggest therapy and trying medications until you find the right ones for you. It may take a while but it’s so worth it when you find what works right with your body and mind. 

Still I rise, 

Kirsten  

My personal email is 

Stognerslife@yahoo.com

Instagram- stognerslife

Snapchat- k.fouquet

Leave a Reply

